Make Osogbo a unique Film acting city, Mike Abiola tells Nigerian government | African News – Nigeria News – African Politics


Prince Mike Abiola

The Managing Director of African Voice newspaper, the organizers of the Afro-Hollywood Awards, has called on the Nigerian government to invest more on the film industry and encourage film development to draw tourists to various part of the country.

 He cited the uniqueness of Osogbo as a citadel of Nigerian culture, saying the ancient city should be highlighted as a major Nollywood film-making centre, due to its tourism potential as the nation’s leading cultural city.

He was speaking on why the city has been chosen for the announcement of the nominees for this year’s renamed African Film Awards, which will take place in London on November 6, this year.

“Osogbo has been especially earmarked as the place to announce the short-list for this year’s Awards because the Osun state capital is blessed with natural scenery ideal for film-making.

“There is no reason why the Government should not designate the state as film friendly, with incentives for film-makers,” Prince Abiola said.

 He hinted that this year’s Awards will be unique, coming after last year’s Nigeria 50th anniversary edition, which recorded a resounding success and was tagged as one of the best such events organized in London in recent times.

 A distinguished, independent panel of film critics, respected for their expertise in the film industry, will decide the eventual winners in each award category. As usual, this year’ Awards will have the trimmings of a tourism promotion.

The 2011 Awards, celebrating excellence in African Film and Tourism, will be an opportunity to highlight the tourism development plans of African states, as the event coincides with the World Tourism Market, the leading global event for the tourism industry.

 The awards ceremony will be held on Sunday 6 November at the historic Stratford Town Hall, 29 Broadway, Stratford, London

The annual event is supported by the Nigeria High Commission, London.

Arik Air is the Headline sponsor for this year’s African Film Awards.  Other sponsors include Femade UK Ltd, Obaseki Solicitors, Bantuway Foods Ltd.  Rich Vision and Eclipse Media Network, publishers of EMNnews online.

Said Balogun

Nominees for this year’s Award:

African Actor of the Year

(African Film category)

Saheed Balogun (Nigeria),Majid Michael (Ghana),Presley Chweneyagae (South Africa)

(Nollywood Film category)

Best Actor (English language film),Femi Brainard,Joseph Benjamin, Yemi Blaq

Best Actress (English language film)

Susan Peters, Chika Ike, Tonto Dike

Best Actress (Supporting Role in an English language film)

Rukky Sandy, Halima Abubakar, Nkiru Sylvanus

Best Actress (Yoruba language film)

Simeon Doris, Toyin Aimaku, Ayo Adesanya

Best Actress (Supporting Role in a Yoruba language film)

Toyin Oladiran (Abeni Agbon, Laide Bakare, Funke Adesiyan

Best Actor (Yoruba language film)

Odunlade Adekola, Muyiwa Adegoke, Yomi Fash-Lanso

Actress Mona Lisa: Past recipient

Best Actor (Supporting Role in a Yoruba language film)

Muka Ray

Lekan Oladiipo

Tayo Adeleye

Best Actor (Hausa language film)

Aminu Sherif Momoh, Ibrahim Maishunku, Babelle Hayatu

Best Actress (Hausa language film)

Sadiya Mohammed,Mayam Booth, Jamila Umar Nagudu

Veteran Actor,Tafa Oloyede,Kayode Olasehinde,Gbolagade Akinpelu

Veteran Actress, Grace Oyin Adejobi (Iya Osogbo), Lanre Hassan (Iya Awero), Iyabo Ogunsola

Best Director (English film, Kingsley Omo Efe, Teco Benson, Chidi Nwakobia

Best Director (Yoruba film)

Abbey Lanre, Antar Laniya, Bayo Tijani.

Television Soap Actress (Nigeria)

Yinka Olukunga, Bukky Ogunnote-Ogunade, Bola Sowunmi

New Acting Talent, Bukola Awoyemi, Mayowa Atanda, Funke Etti

 Entertainment Journalist (Print), Ayo Lawal (PM News),Amatus Arinze (Sun Newspaper),Bayo Adeoye (Weekend Life)

Entertainment Journalist (Broadcast)

Tolulope  Olusola Lamidi (TV Continental), Jacqueline (AIT), Michael Nwadibe (Silverbird TV)

Photo – Journalist (Print): Femi Adagunodo, Taofiq Adejare, Adekunle Ajayi

 New Comedy Talent: Ahmed Basheer Adekunle

Bernard Babatunde Tayo (Baba Tee),Okoh Solomon

Special Awards category:


Sam Loco – Efe

Special Contributions to the development of films

Hon. Rotimi Makinde

Special Arts Personality of the Year & Custodian of Culture

HRH, Oba Olasunkami Gbolagade, Olojo of Ojo

Special Contributions to the development of Arts & Culture

Chief Yemi Elebubon

Other awardees are in the tourism categories.

Osogbo, an endowed cultural city

Most Popular

Like many other news organizations, is emerging as a fresh starter on the internet news web family. We report Breaking News that cut across politics, business and investment opportunities. We also feature fashion events, travel and tourism.

Copyright © 2013 - 2022.

To Top